Centro de Ciencias de Benasque Pedro Pascual

Session image


2019, May 05 -- May 18

L. Amico (U. Catania-CNR & CQT-NUS)
G. Birkl (TU Darmstadt)
M. Boshier (Los Alamos)
L.-C. Kwek (CQT-NUS)
C. Miniatura (CNRS-MajuLab & Centre for quantum technologies) A. Minguzzi (U. Grenoble-Alpes & CNRS Grenoble)

Following the editions in 2015 and 2017, the goal of the workshop is to follow up visions and opportunities in Atomtronics: Atomic quantum matter, like Bose-Einstein condensates, manipulated in electric, magnetic, or optical circuits of very different spatial shapes and intensity. The typically low decoherence/dissipation rates of cold atoms systems and the high controllability and enhanced flexibility of potentials for ultracold matter make Atomtronics very attractive for enlarging the scope of existing cold-atom quantum technology. With the current know-how in the field, circuits with micrometer scale precision can be realized. Important aspects of mesoscopic physics and devices can also be explored.

Confirmed Invited speakers

- Dana Anderson, JILA (USA)
- Natan Andrei, Rutgers (USA)
- Aidan Arnold, Univ. Strathclyde (UK)
- Denis Basko, LPMMC (France)
- Ashton Bradely (New Zeland)
- Jerome Beugnon, LKB (France)
- Helene Bouchiat, LPS, (France)
- Jean-Philippe Brantut, ETH (Switzerland)
- Roberta Citro (Italy)
- Frédéric Chevy, LKB (France)
- Charles Clark, NIST (USA)
- Rainer Dumke, CQT (Singapore)
- Mark Edwards, Georgia South. Univ. (USA)
- Tilman Esslinger, ETH (Switzerland)
- Denis Feinberg, Neel (France)
- Alexander Fetter, Stanford (USA)
- Ron Folman, Ben Gurion (Israel)
- Jozsef Fortagh, Tuebingen (Germany)
- Simon Gardiner, Durham (UK)
- Barry Garraway, Sussex (UK)
- David Guéry-Odelin, Toulouse (France)
- Maciej Lewenstein (Spain)
- Wenhui Li, CQT (Singapore)
- Jordi Mompart UAB (Spain)
- Oliver Morsch (Italy)
- Maxim Olshanii, UMass (USA)
- Helene Perrin , LPL (France)
- Nick Proukakis, JQC (UK)
- Matteo Rizzi, Mainz Univ. (Germany)
- Giacomo Roati LENS (Italy)
- Halina Rubinsztein-Dunlop (Australia)
- Joerg Schmeidmayer (TU-Wien) (Austria)
- Sandro Stringari, Trento (Italy)
- Letitia Tarruel (ICFO, Spain)
- Wolf von Klitzing, Crete Univ. (Greece)
- David Wilkowski, CNRS/CQT (Singapore)

(*) To be confirmed

Bus Transportation

The center provides free buses:
From Barcelona, Universitat de Barcelona, Diagonal 686, Metro: L3 Palau Reial at 15:00h (Note that the bus stops opposite University of Barcelona, Facultat de Física i Química)

From Barcelona airport ('El Prat', Terminal T2A: on leaving exit, turn left and you will find a police building called 'Mossos d'Esquadra') at 15:30h.

Return buses:
From Benasque to Barcelona airport and then university, departure at 9:00h.
The trip by bus to Barcelona takes 4-5h. approximately. The trip by car only takes 3h 30m.

Bus trajectories and dates:
- Barcelona-Benasque, May 05.
- Benasque-Barcelona, May 18.

Registration & accommodation

Application deadline is March 05

Further Information.

This session has received financial support from the following institutions:

  • Ministerio de ciencia, innovación y universidades
  • Gobierno de Aragón
  • logo CSIC
  • DPH
  • Universidad de Zaragoza
  • Ayuntamiento de Benasque

Conference Data


Our building

  • Future building