Centro de Ciencias de Benasque Pedro Pascual

Session image

Understanding cosmological observations

2017, Jul 30 -- Aug 11

D. Blas (CERN)
C. Byrnes (Sussex)
R. Crittenden (Portsmouth)
M. Crocce (ICE)
R. Flauger (Texas)
A. Lewis (Sussex)
S. Nadathur (Portsmouth)
R. Smith (Sussex)
F. Vernizzi (Saclay)

By Summer 2017 the analysis of the Planck satellite CMB mission will be complete, while a new wave of data will be arriving from large-scale structure observations and high-sensitivity CMB polarization measurements. The two-week workshop will focus on the data analysis and theoretical modelling required to robustly understand the new observations as non-linear and foreground physics becomes increasingly important. Moreover, it aims to explore the range of theoretical models that could explain the data and be empirically tested over the next decade.

After the success of the Benasque workshops on Modern Cosmology, held in 2006, 2008, 2010, 2012 and 2014, a new set of organisers wish to continue the tradition by bringing together leading international experts on both theoretical and observational cosmology, into a particularly beautiful and inspiring atmosphere below the pic of Aneto, the highest point in the Pyrenees.

The program will consist mainly of a few lectures and discussion sessions, leaving plenty of time in the afternoon for interactions and research, as well as for mountain hiking. There will also be an opportunity for people to present contributed talks. In the evening, the village offers a warm and relaxing atmosphere with good and mostly inexpensive bars and restaurants. The Centre is equipped with facilities such as library, wifi, black-boards, discussion rooms and coffee lounges. Participants will get a desk in a shared office.

All participants will be accommodated in hotel rooms or in nice apartments managed by the Conference center (1, 2 or 3 bedroom apartments available, for prices ranging approximately from about 400 to 700 euros/week , which can be shared between participants). There will be a registration fee (by default 250 euros for the two weeks, including bus transfer from Barcelona, reception and coffee breaks), but we may be able to subsidise a small number on request.

Plenary Speakers

- Neal Dalal (Illinois)
- Daniel Figueroa (CERN)
- Josh Frieman (FERMILAB)
- Juan García-Bellido (UAM, Madrid)
- Oliver Hahn (OCA, Nice)
- Eiichiro Komatsu (MPA, Munich)
- Elizabeth Krause (Stanford/SLAC)
- Hiranya Peiris (UCL, London)
- Sergey Sibiryakov (CERN)
- Alexander Westphal (DESY, Hamburg)

We regret that registration has now closed and the meeting is full! You only need to pay the registration fee if your application is accepted.

Registration fee information

The registration fee for this conference is 250 eur

* People who have problems paying electronically in advance may contact the centre to discuss other options before the payment deadline
* Fee payment deadline: Jun 16

Pay by bank transfer

The registration fee must be paid to the account of the Centro de Ciencias de Benasque Pedro Pascual after your application has been accepted.

Ibercaja (account number): 2085 2310 3803 3004 4193
IBAN: ES44 2085 2310 3803 3004 4193

Remember that your registration is complete only after the payment is made.

* Please, pay after your application has been accepted.
* Please, send a confirmation by e-mail to info@benasque.org.
* Please pay all bank charges
* Include as a subject in the transfer '2017uco Your_Surname'
* In the comments section include:
      Full name of the conference and your name.

Pay by credit card

Credit card online payments here.

* You have to be registered.
* Please, pay after your application has been accepted.

*Cancellation Policy*
A 30 euro charge will be applied for cancellations made up to 10 days before the conference start date.
A no refund policy will be applied to cancellations made after this date.

Further Information.

This session has received financial support from the following institutions:

  • logo CSIC
  • Gobierno de Aragón
  • Ministerio de educación y ciencia
  • DPH
  • Universidad de Zaragoza
  • Ayuntamiento de Benasque


Our building

  • Future building