Centro de Ciencias de Benasque Pedro Pascual

Session image

Quantum Simulations

2015, Feb 22 -- Feb 27

I. Bloch (Max Planck, Garching)
G. Johansson (Chalmers U - Main organizer)
F. Schmidt-Kaler (U. Mainz)
E. Solano (UPV/EHU & Ikerbasque)
C. Wilson (IQC, Waterloo - Main organizer)

This is the fourth Workshop on Quantum Simulations including Benasque 2011, Bilbao 2012, and Benasque 2013 each of them highly interdisciplinary with about 150 young and senior participants. As in previous years, The goal of the Workshop is to gather the leading scientists in theory and experiment on quantum simulations with an open interdisciplinary scope. Quantum simulation consist in the reproduction of a quantum dynamics, difficult to access and study naturally, using an engineered quantum system that is more controllable theoretically and experimentally. Major goals include calculating and predicting physics that cannot be done with classical computers, for instance, in biomolecules, quantum field theories, and complex quantum materials. Quantum simulation is an emerging branch of quantum computing that promises practical applications on a timescale significantly shorter that general purpose quantum computing. Quantum simulations is intrinsically eclectic, including fundamentals in physics and quantum information, quantum optics (photonics, trapped ions, optical lattices, BEC), condensed-matter (quantum dots, superconducting qubits, circuit QED), quantum chemistry, quantum field theory and even quantum biomimetics.

When we organized the first workshop in 2011, Quantum Simulation was a small field on the fringes of quantum information science. In the mean time, Quantum Simulation has moved to the center, becoming a prominent part of the quantum information landscape. We hope that Quantum Simulation 2015 will help maintain this momentum for this growing and important field.

List of speakers

Invited SpeakersContributed talks
Baier (University of Innsbruck)Bermejo-Vega (Max Planck Institute of Quantum Optics)
Büchler (University of Stuttgart)Brange (Lund University)
Celi (ICFO)Chiesa (Università di Parma)
Dalmonte (Institute for theoretical physics, Innsbruck)Fedorov (Walther-Meissner-Institut)
Di Ventra (UC San Diego)Forn-Díaz (IQC - University of Waterloo)
Fallani (LENS - University of Florence)Friesdorf (Free University Berlin)
Gleyzes (CNRS) - PLENARY TALKGarcía-Ripoll (CSIC)
Gräfe (Institute of Applied Physics Jena)Guo (Chalmers University of Technology)
Hess (Maryland U.) - PLENARY TALKKirchmaier (Institute for Quantum Optics)
Jurecevic (University of Innsbruck)Mekhov (University of Oxford)
Langford (Technical University of Delft)Rico Ortega (Strasbourg Univ. - UPV/EHU & Ikerbasque)
Lesanovsky (University of Nottingham)Sabín (University of Nottingham)
Love (Haverford College)Sanz (University of the Basque Country)
McClean (Harvard University)Ulrich (RWTH Aachen University)
Mezzacapo (University of the Basque Country UPV/EHU)Zueco (Universidad de Zaragoza)
Neil (UCSB)
Pupillo (University of Strasbourg)
Sanders (University of Calgary) - PLENARY TALK
Schmiegelow (Uni-Mainz)
Stace (University of Queensland)
Tian (University of California, Merced)
Wallraff (ETH Zurich) - PLENARY TALK
Wang (ETH Zurich)
Wiese (Bern University) - PLENARY TALK
Yefsah (MIT)
Zhang (Tsinghua University)

Abstract submission

Abstract submission is closed.
* Submission deadline was 05th January, 2015.


Registration fee information

The registration fee for this conference is 150 eur.

Pay by bank transfer

The registration fee must be paid to the account of the Centro de Ciencias de Benasque Pedro Pascual after your application has been accepted.

Ibercaja (account number): 2085 2310 3803 3004 4193
IBAN: ES44 2085 2310 3803 3004 4193

Remember that your registration is complete only after the payment is made.

* Please, send a confirmation by e-mail to info@benasque.org.
* Please pay all bank charges
* Include as a subject in the transfer '2015qs Your_Surname'
* In the comments section include:
      Full name of the conference and your name.

Pay by credit card

Credit card online payments here.

* All credit card payments have a 0.7% VAT charge
* You have to be registered.
* Please, pay after your application has been accepted.

*Cancellation Policy*
A 30 euro charge will be applied for cancellations made up to 10 days before the conference start date.
A no refund policy will be applied to cancellations made after this date.

Further Information.

This session has received financial support from the following institutions:

  • logo CSIC
  • Gobierno de Aragón
  • Ministerio de educación y ciencia
  • DPH
  • Universidad de Zaragoza
  • Ayuntamiento de Benasque


Our building

  • Future building