Centro de Ciencias de Benasque Pedro Pascual

Session image

XL International Meeting on Fundamental Physics

2012, May 24 -- Jun 03

J. Fuster (IFIC-Valècia) chair
C. García (IFIC-València) co-chair
F.J. Botella (IFIC-València) co-chair

2012: a milestone year for Particle and Astroparticle Physics

Local Organizers: IFIC-València

The XL International Meeting on Fundamental Physics will be held in Benasque, Huesca (Aragonese Pyrenees, Spain) starting on the 25th of May until the 3rd of June 2012.

Benasque is a beautiful mountain village located 1140 m above sea level, in a valley in the heart of the Pyrenees, about 140 km north from the city of Zaragoza. The beautiful landscapes and the proximity to large ski resorts make Benasque one of the main tourist sites in the region.

The Spanish High Energy Physics community has organized the International Meeting on Fundamental Physics since 1973. This year edition will focus on the latest results from the LHC, neutrino, astroparticle and cosmic ray experiments. Two dedicated mini-workshops will complement the traditional structure of this workshop. A special LHC mini-workshop will be devoted to discuss the status of the latest LHC results and its implications for High Energy Physics future projects. A second mini-workshop will review the present situation of Flavour Physics with emphasis on the Spanish participation in this field. Time will be allocated to discus the Spanish strategy and organization in Particle and Astroparticle Physics in view of the European Strategy discussion.

Local Organizing Committee

Angeles Faus-Golfe - IFIC Valencia
Arcadi Santamaría - IFIC Valencia
Carlos Lacasta - IFIC Valencia
Carmen García - IFIC Valencia (Co-chair)
Francisco Botella - IFIC Valencia (Co-chair)
José Valle - IFIC Valencia
Juan Fuster - IFIC Valencia (Chair)
Juan José Gómez-Cadenas - IFIC Valencia
Juan José Hernández - IFIC Valencia
Salvador Martí - IFIC Valencia

Advisory Committee

Alberto Casas - IFT Madrid
Alberto Ruiz - IFCA Santander
Antonio Ferrer - IFIC Valencia
Antonio Pich - IFIC Valencia
Carlos Pajares - Univ. Santiago de Compostela
Domenec Espriu - Univ. Barcelona
Enrique Fernádez - IFAE Barcelona
Enrique Zas - Univ. Santiago de Compostela
Fernando Cornet - Univ. Granada
Francisco Del Aguila - Univ. Granada
Fernando Barreiro - Univ. Autónoma Madrid
José Ángel Villar - Univ. Zaragoza
José Bernabeu - IFIC Valencia
Manel Martínez - IFAE Barcelona
Manuel Aguilar Benítez - CIEMAT Madrid
Manuel Asorey - Univ. Zaragoza
Marcos Cerrada - CIEMAT Madrid
Maria Victoria Fonseca - Univ. Complutense Madrid
Matteo Cavalli-Sforza - IFAE Barcelona
Teresa Rodrigo - IFCA Santander

Flavour Mini-Workshop

Eugeni Grauges -Univ. Barcelona
Francisco Botella - IFIC Valencia
Maria José Herrero - IFT Madrid

LHC Mini-Workshop

Bernardo Adeva - Univ. Santiago de Compostela
Javier Cuevas - Univ. Oviedo
Juan Fuster - IFIC Valencia
Salvador Martí - IFIC Valencia
Sven Heinemeyer - IFCA Santander

Technical Support

Anna Gili - CCBPP Benasque
David Fuentes - CCBPP Benasque
Maria Teresa Andreu - IFIC Valencia
Mercedes Fatas - Univ. Zaragoza
Tracey Paterson - CCBPP Benasque

Registration fee

- Normal fee (early registration before 1st of May): 200 euros
- Normal fee (late registration after 1st of May): 225 euros
- Partial fee (three days or less): 150 euros

Grants for PhD and postdocs will be allocated according to existing resources. They will cover the accommodation and registration fee. The request of such grants should be explicitly indicated when registering.

Below you can find the account information to make the bank transfer. Please indicate your name and the title of the conference in the transfer subject.

Ibercaja (account number): 2085 2310 3803 3004 4193
IBAN: ES44 2085 2310 3803 3004 4193

Please send a copy of the bank transfer receipt (including your name, conference name and transfer details)by email to info@benasque.org

Cancelation Policy A 30 euro charge will be applied for cancelations made up to 10 days before the conference start date. A no refund policy will be applied to cancelations made after this date.








Further Information.

This session has received financial support from the following institutions:

  • logo CSIC
  • Gobierno de Aragón
  • Ministerio de educación y ciencia
  • DPH
  • Universidad de Zaragoza
  • Ayuntamiento de Benasque

Conference Poster

  • Poster


Our building

  • Future building