Centro de Ciencias de Benasque Pedro Pascual

Session image

8th International Workshop on Disordered Systems

2012, Aug 26 -- Sep 01

V. A. Gopar (U. Zaragoza)
F. Domínguez-Adame (U. Complutense Madrid)
U. Kuhl (U. Nice-Sophia Antipolis)
R. Molina (I.E.M., CSIC)
R. Roemer (U. Warwick)

The goal of the 8th International Workshop on Disordered Systems is to gather experts and young researchers on different fields in which disorder plays a fundamental role. It follows a succesful series of workshops that previously took place in Arica (Chile) in 1998 and 2000, Puebla (Mexico) in 2002 and 2010, Leganes (Spain) in 2004, Maceio (Brazil) in 2006, and Cordoba (Argentina) in 2008. The scope of the workshop is very general but the main focus will be centered on the following topics:

- Quantum transport in disordered quantum wires.
- Quantum electronic scattering in quantum dots.
- Chaotic scattering in waveguides.
- Non-linear optics phenomena (photonic materials and random lasers).
- Solitons in disordered media.
- Electronic phenomena in graphene-based systems.
- Transport in molecular systems (DNA).
- Topological insulators.
- Bose-Einstein condensates in random optical lattices.

The workshop will provide a motivating scientific atmosphere in order to present the most recent advances in the field and to foster further collaborations between the participants. Young researchers and students are specially encouraged to apply and the organization will try to provide financial support for their participation when possible.

Confirmed list of participants:

- Marcus Büttiker (Université de Genève)
- Vladimir Dobrosavljevic (Florida State University)
- Azriel Genack (City University of New York)
- Pier A. Mello (Universidad Nacional Autónoma de México) (participation canceled)
- Mikhail E. Raikh (University of Utah)
- Felix Izrailev (Instituto de Física, BUAP)
- Rafael Mendez, Instituto de Física, Cuernavaca, México
- Graeme Watt, EPL
- Nykolay Makarov, Universidad Autónoma de Puebla
- Thomas Gorin, Universidad de Guadalajara
- Rodolfo Jalabert, Université de Strasbourg
Workshop sessions will be held from Monday, Aug 27 to Friday, Aug 31, 2012.

Call for contributions

Abstract submission for a contributed talk or a poster has been closed.

New: EPL awards will be given to the best posters

Deadline for abstract submission: July 15, 2012.
You have to be registered before submitting contributions.

Registration Fee

Early-bird registration fee : 100 Euros per participant. Deadline: May 31, 2012.

Late registration fee : 150 Euros per participant

The registration fee must be paid to the account of the Centro de Ciencias de Benasque Pedro Pascual after your application has been accepted. Please indicate your name and the title of the conference in the transfer subject.

Ibercaja (account number): 2085 2310 3803 3004 4193
IBAN: ES44 2085 2310 3803 3004 4193

Please send a copy of the bank transfer receipt (including your name, conference name and transfer details)by email to info@benasque.org

Cancellation Policy A 30 euro charge will be applied for cancellations made up to 10 days before the conference start date. A no refund policy will be applied to cancellations made after this date.








Further Information.

This session has received financial support from the following institutions:

  • logo CSIC
  • Gobierno de Aragón
  • Ministerio de educación y ciencia
  • DPH
  • Universidad de Zaragoza
  • Ayuntamiento de Benasque


Our building

  • Future building