Centro de Ciencias de Benasque Pedro Pascual

Session image

XVIII International Fall Workshop on Geometry and Physics

2009, Sep 06 -- Sep 11

J. F. Cariñena, E. Martínez, J.Clemente-Gallardo (U. Zaragoza)
J. N. da Costa (U. Coimbra)
D. Martín de Diego (CSIC, Madrid)

The goal of the Fall Workshops on Geometry and Physics, held yearly since 1992, is to provide a context for exchanging ideas amongst researchers of different fields in Differential Geometry, Applied Mathematics and Physics; in general, amongst people interested in the application of geometric methods and techniques to the study of physical problems.

These meetings bring together Spanish and Portuguese geometers and physicists, along with an ever increasing number of participants from outside the Iberian peninsula. The meetings goal is to provide a forum for the exchange of ideas between researchers from different backgrounds, and always include a substantial number of enthusiastic young researchers amongst the participants. This spirit inspired the 17 previous Fall Workshops on Geometry and Physics.

This year the Workshop will take place at the Benasque Center for Physics 'Pedro Pascual', located at Benasque, a charming small village located at the heart of the Spanish Pyrenees. The organization will provide a bus from Lleida and local accommodation for participants.

The program includes two mini-courses, several 45 minutes invited talks, a few short talks and a poster session. Click here for a view of the program and here for the abstracts.

Mini courses

  • Peter Olver
  • Paolo Facchi
  • Confirmed invited speakers

    Marius Crainic Pablo Mira Carlos Herdeiro
    Ilka Agricola Gil Ramos Cavalcanti Ximo Gual-Arnau
    Melvin Leok Fernando Falceto

    Main Topics

  • Lie algebroids and mechanics
  • Lorentz geometry
  • Poisson geometry
  • Riemannian geometry
  • Semi-Riemannian geometry
  • Symplectic and contact geometry
  • Mechanics of continuous media
  • Quantum mechanics
  • Relativity
  • Supergravity and supersymmetry
  • Integrable systems
  • Control theory
  • Classical theory of fields
  • String theory
  • Scientific Committee

  • Manuel Asorey (U. Zaragoza)
  • José Adolfo de Azcárraga (U. Valencia)
  • Fernando Barbero (CSIC, Madrid)
  • José F. Cariñena (U. Zaragoza)
  • Fernando Etayo (U. Cantabria)
  • Rui Loja Fernandes (IST, Lisboa)
  • Maria Luisa Fernández (U. País Vasco)
  • Alberto Ibort (U. Carlos III Madrid)
  • Manuel de León (CSIC, Madrid)
  • Pascual Lucas (U. Murcia)
  • Juan Carlos Marrero (U. La Laguna)
  • Miguel Muñoz (U. Politécnica Barcelona)
  • J.M. Nunes da Costa (U. Coimbra)
  • Roger F Picken (IST, Lisboa)
  • Cesar Rosales (U. Granada)
  • Organizing Committee

  • José F. Cariñena (U. Zaragoza)
  • Joana Margarida Nunes da Costa (U. Coimbra)
  • Eduardo Martínez (U. Zaragoza)
  • David Martín de Diego (CSIC, Madrid)
  • Jesús Clemente-Gallardo (U. Zaragoza)

  • Further Information.

    This session has received financial support from the following institutions:

    • logo CSIC
    • Gobierno de Aragón
    • Ministerio de educación y ciencia
    • DPH
    • Universidad de Zaragoza
    • Ayuntamiento de Benasque


    Our building

    • Future building