10th Time-Dependent Density-Functional Theory: Prospects and Applications


H. Appel (MPI for the Structure and Dynamics of Matter, Hamburg), N. Tancogne-Dejean (MPI for the Structure and Dynamics of Matter, Hamburg), A. Castro (ARAID Foundation, Zaragoza), E. K. U. Gross (Hebrew University of Jerusalem), N. Maitra (Rutgers University at Newark), A. Rubio (MPI for the Structure and Dynamics of Matter, Hamburg)

Time-dependent density-functional theory (TDDFT) has now emerged as a well established discipline, even if active developments are still ongoing. This school and workshop will cover the recent developments of TDDFT.

With the workshop, we will bring together speakers from different backgrounds, covering many aspects of TDDFT. This edition of the workshop is however a bit special, as it is its 10th anniversary. We are therefore aiming at bringing together the speakers of the very first edition of the Benasque workshop series.

The event will be held in the 'Centro de Ciencias de Benasque Pedro Pascual', Benasque, Spain and it is intended to stimulate the exchange of ideas between scientists with different views of the field. The Center provides many facilities and an agreeable atmosphere to allow the participants to carry their work during the meeting.

Benasque is a beautiful mountain village located 1140 m above sea level, in a valley at the heart of the Pyrenees, about 140 km north of the city of Zaragoza. The beautiful landscapes, scenic hikes and the proximity to the highest peaks in the Pyrenees make Benasque one of the main tourist sites in the region.

School dates

The School will start on Tuesday, April 8th. The participants are expected to arrive on Monday 7th, and a bus will be organized to facilitate the transport from the airport of Barcelona on that day. The School will finish on Saturday, April 12th.

Workshop dates

The participants of the workshop that do not participate in the School are expected to arrive on April 13th. A bus will facilitate the transport from the airport of Barcelona. The workshop will start the following day (April 14th), and finish on the evening of the April 16th, and another bus will facilitate the return trip to Barcelona airport the next morning (April 17th).

List of topics

- (1) Use of TDDFT to study time-resolved spectroscopies in solids, liquids, and molecules;
- (2) Spin dynamics in molecules and materials;
- (3) Non-adiabatic molecular dynamics, coupled to TDDFT;
- (4) The long quest for better approximations to the exchange-and-correlation functionals, both for ground-state and excited-states problems. The problem of non-adiabaticity. Solutions to the charge-transfer excitation problems;
- (5) Coupling of TDDFT to the electromagnetic field: classical and quantized electro-magnetic fields;
- (6) Relation of TDDFT with more advanced many-body schemes, such as Bethe-Salpeter, etc.

Confirmed School instructors

Heiko Appel (MPSD Hamburg) Nicolas Tancogne Dejean (MPSD Hamburg) Hardy Gross (University of Jerusalem)
Neepa Maitra (Rutgers University) (possibly remote) Alberto Castro (ARAID Foundation) Michael Ruggenthaler (MPSD Hamburg)
Carsten Ullrich (University of Missouri) Shane Parker (Case Western Reserve University, Cleaveland, Ohio) David Strubbe (University of California, Merced)

Confirmed speakers for the workshop:

Franco Bonafe (MPSD Hamburg) Stefan Kurth (CSIC - UPV/EHU, San Sebastian) Gianluca Stefanucci (University of Rome Tor Vergata)
Dominik Sidler (MPSD Hamburg) Eric Suraud (Paul Sabatier University, Toulouse) Sangeeta Sharma (Max Born Institute, Berlin)
I-Te Liu (MPSD Hamburg) Simone Latini (Technical University of Denmark) Carsten Ullrich (University of Missouri)
Ofer Neufeld (MPSD Hamburg) Sivan Refaely-Abramson (Weizmann Institute of Science) Dante Kennes (RWTH Aachen University)
Kazuhiro Yabana (University of Tsukuba, Japan) Stephan Kuemmel (University of Bayreuth) Mark Kamper Svendsen (MPSD Hamburg)
Roberto Car (Princeton University) Kieron Burke (UC Irvine) Giovanni Vignale (University of Missouri)
Andreas Goerling (University of Erlangen-Nürnberg) Lucia Reining (LSI, Ecole Polytechnique Palaiseau, CNRS) Leeor Kronik (Weizmann Institute of Science)
Shane Parker (Case Western Reserve University, Cleaveland, Ohio) David Strubbe (University of California, Merced) Raffaele Resta (IOM-CNR Democriitos, Trieste)
Steven G. Louie (University of California, Berkeley)

School and workshop co-organized by:


Registration fee information

The registration fee for this conference is:

School + workshop fee: 325 eur.
Only workshop fee: 175 eur.

Pay by bank transfer

The registration fee must be paid to the account of the Centro de Ciencias de Benasque Pedro Pascual after your application has been accepted.

Ibercaja (account number): 2085 2310 3803 3004 4193
IBAN: ES44 2085 2310 3803 3004 4193

Remember that your registration is complete only after the payment is made.

* Please, pay after your application has been accepted.
* Please, send a confirmation by e-mail to info@benasque.org.
* Please pay all bank charges
* Include as a subject in the transfer '2025tddft Your_Surname'
* In the comments section include:
      Full name of the conference and your name.

Pay by credit card

School + workshop fee: Pay by credit card
Only workshop fee: Pay by credit card

* You have to be registered.
* Please, pay after your application has been accepted.

*Cancellation Policy*
A 30 euro charge will be applied for cancellations made up to 10 days before the conference start date.
A no refund policy will be applied to cancellations made after this date.

Bus transportation

The center provides free buses:
From Barcelona, Universitat de Barcelona, Diagonal 686, Metro: L3 Palau Reial at 15:00h (Note that the bus stops opposite University of Barcelona, Facultat de Física i Química)

From Barcelona airport ('El Prat', Terminal T2A: on leaving exit, turn left and you will find a police building called 'Mossos d'Esquadra'.
Cross the road using the zebra crossing and turn left. The bus will stop there) at 15:30h.

Return buses:
From Benasque to Barcelona airport and then university, departure at 9:00h.
The trip by bus to Barcelona takes 4-5h. approximately. The trip by car only takes 3h 30m.

Bus trajectories and dates:
- Barcelona - Benasque, April 07 and Barcelona - Benasque, April 13.
- Benasque - Barcelona, April 17.

Registration & accommodation

Application deadline is December 31

  • Application form (closed on December 31)
  • Check your registration data (for registered participants only)
  • Book and check your accommodation here (open from Jan 05 to March 20).

Further Information.

  • List of participants.
  • Scientific program.
  • Pictures.