Time-Dependent Density-Functional Theory: Prospects and Applications

2008, August 31 -- September 15

Organizers: E. K. U. Gross (Freie Universitaet Berlin), M. A. L. Marques (Coimbra), F. Nogueira (Coimbra), M. A. Rubio (U. País Vasco)

We organize this event at the Benasque Center for Science'', Benasque, Spain, from August 31, 2008 to September 15, 2008. Benasque is a beautiful town in the heart of the Pyrenees. The school will take place from August 31 (Day 0 - arrival of students for the school) to September 9, and the workshop will start September 10 (arrival of participants to the workshop) and finish on September 15 (departure of all participants).

Registration will be closed on the 1st of June 2008. USA participants can apply for NFS support. There is also support available from the Marie Curie Psi-k training programme (click here for more details) PLEASE all lectures, invited speakers and students requested financial support should register at the CECAM web page

Participants are expected to arrive on August 31 and leave on September 15, although shorter stays are also possible.

Free buses will depart from Barcelona, Universitat de Barcelona, Diagonal 647 (metro: Palau Reial, green line) at 15.00h with a stop at the airport (at the entrance of Car Park A, next to the Police Office, on your left from terminal A) at 15:30h.
Return buses from Benasque to Barcelona airport will depart at 9.00h.
The trip by bus to Barcelona takes 6h. The trip by car only takes 3h 30m.

Bus trajectories and dates:
- Barcelona-Benasque, August 31 and Barcelona-Benasque, September 10.
- Benasque-Barcelona, September 10 and Benasque-Barcelona, September 15


Deadline for applications is June 10, 2008.

  • Application form (closed on June 10, 2008)
  • Check your registration data (for registered participants only)
  • Book and check your accommodation here (opened from June to may11).

Further Information.

This session has received financial support from the following institutions:
ETSF, cecam, SimBioMa Program, Nanoquanta, LighTnet, ESF, NSF, Universidad del Pais Vasco, Universitat de Barcelona, Ψk, Marie Curie Actions. CSIC, Ministerio de Educación y Ciencia, Gobierno de Aragón, Ayuntamiento de Benasque, Universidad de Zaragoza y Fundación BBVA.